Sign in

A.I. Submatov-Yuzhin Memorial Accomodation

The house number 5 on the Bolshoy Palashevsky lane was built in 1882. 10 years later Prince Alexander Ivanovich Sumbatov-Yuzhin settled there and lived there until his death in 1927. The lane was renamed Yuzhinskiy in honor of Alexander Ivanovich, this name was preserved until 1994.

After the death of Alexander Yuzhin, his widow, Maria Nikolaevna Sumbatova (nee Baroness Korf) turned the two rooms - the study and the living room - into memorial ones, and every 17th day (the artist’s date of birth and the date of his death) she held commemoration gatherings. Maria Nikolaevna passed away in 1938. She bequeathed Yuzhin’s archive to the Maly Theatre, and also asked to transform the study, the living room and the dining room into a museum.

Her last will was only fulfilled in the next century. In January 2001, 4 rooms were transferred to the Maly Theatre – a study, a living room, a dining room and a bedroom of A.I. Sumbatov-Yuzhin. For over 5 years the exposition was being prepared by the Honored Artist of Russia V.N Shikharev. The official opening ceremony took place in 2006. The exhibition area includes the artist's memorial room, a living room, a "musical living room" (a dining room transformed into an exhibition and a theatre hall), as well as a former bedroom turned into Alexander Ivanovich's dressing-room in the Maly Theatre, where he was getting ready to go on stage, and where he used to work as a director, where he received visitors. In 2014, the museum was closed for renovation, related to the restoration of the historic facade of the building. On December 23, 2015, the museum reopened its doors.

The memorial apartment regularly hosts exhibitions, literary evenings, and meetings with contemporary artists, as well as conferences. These events are dedicated not only to the personality of Alexander Ivanovich, but also to the modern history of the main House in his life - the Maly Theatre.

Discover the history of the apartment and its inhabitants with one of our regular guided tours – «A.I.Sumbatov-Yuzhin and the theatre of his time» (a tour of the memorial apartment), «M.N. Ermolova and A.I. Sumbatov-Yuzhin. Moscow addresses of the great artists» (a walking tour that includes a visit to A.I.Sumbatov-Yuzhin's Memorial Apartment and M.N. Ermolova House-Museum).



The schedule of excursions is available in Events calendar of the website.

Tickets can be purchased at the box office of the theatre or on-line.

For questions about reserved group tours (15 people), please call +7 (916) 879-84-90 or e-mail sumbatov.yuzhin@maly.ru

Мемориальная квартира А.И. Сумбатова-Южина

Дом №5 по Большому Палашёвскому переулку был построен в 1882 г. Через 10 лет там поселился князь Александр Иванович Сумбатов-Южин и прожил до самой смерти в 1927 г. В память об артисте переулок переименовали в Южинский, это название сохранялось вплоть до 1994 г.

После кончины А.И.Южина его вдова Мария Николаевна Сумбатова (в девичестве баронесса Корф) превратила две комнаты – кабинет и гостиную – в мемориальные, и каждое 17-е число (день рождения и смерти артиста) проводила вечера памяти. Мария Николаевна ушла из жизни в 1938 г. Она завещала Малому театру архив Южина, а также просила передать кабинет, гостиную и столовую для создания там музея.

Последняя воля Марии Николаевны исполнилась только в следующем веке. В январе 2001 г. Малому театру были переданы 4 комнаты – кабинет, гостиная, столовая, спальня А.И.Сумбатова-Южина. В течение 5 лет готовились экспозиции (заслуженный художник России В.Н.Шихарев). Открытие музея-квартиры состоялось в 2006 г. Экспозиция включает мемориальный кабинет артиста, гостиную, «музыкальную гостиную» (столовая, переделанная в выставочный и театральный зал), а также бывшую спальню, превращённую в гримёрную-кабинет Александра Ивановича в Малом театре, где он не только готовился к выходу на сцену, но и работал как директор, принимал посетителей. Здесь, на новой площадке Малого театра, проводились встречи, вечера, съёмки передач цикла «Из квартиры князя А.И.Сумбатова-Южина». В 2014 г. музей был закрыт на ремонт, связанный с восстановлением исторического фасада здания. 23 декабря 2015 г. он вновь распахнул свои двери для приёма широкого круга посетителей.

В южинской квартире проводятся выставки, вечера, творческие встречи и конференции. Эти мероприятия мы посвящаем не только личности Александра Ивановича, но также современной истории главного Дома в его жизни – Малого театра.

В Мемориальной квартире проводятся экскурсии: «А.И.СУМБАТОВ-ЮЖИН И ТЕАТР ЕГО ВРЕМЕНИ» (экскурсия по мемориальной квартире) и «М.Н. ЕРМОЛОВА И А.И. ЮЖИН. МОСКОВСКИЕ АДРЕСА ВЕЛИКИХ АРТИСТОВ» (пешеходная экскурсия с посещением мемориальной квартиры и Дома-музея М.Н. Ермоловой)

Расписание экскурсий - в разделе Афиша.
Билеты можно приобрести в кассах театра или на сайте в разделе Билеты.
По вопросам заказа экскурсий для групп (15 человек) обращайтесь по телефону +7 (916) 879-84-90 или по электронной почте sumbatov.yuzhin@maly.ru